Sunday, September 27, 2009

I have one thing to say and one thing only...

People who don't know about college football need to stop obsessing over the Gators because it's the "cool thing" to do, and Tebow needs to come out of the closet already and/or fall off a cliff. Whichever comes first.
Honestly, either follow college football, learn about it, and THEN decide you like the Gators, but don't go from knowing nothing about football one day to saying "Go Gators!" the next! They really aren't that great, and their school is a bunch of stuck up losers, and you are nothing more than a statistic to them.

Oh yeah, and if Jacory and Tebow were to fight, Jacory would win HANDS DOWN. I don't know what dillusions people are going through thinking that nancy boy could take on Jacory, honestly, let's be logical people.


It's all about THE U babyyyyyyyy!

Friday, September 25, 2009

SUCCESS!

After about an hour of searching my entire computer, I finally found my final GP essay from last year, A.K.A, the best essay I've written to date. I am a WINNER.

Prompt: Why should we bother studying writing from the past or from other countries if it does not seem to be relevant to us?

"Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The most important thing is not to stop questioning." This quote from Albert Einstein gives great advice. Over the years, such a variety of historical highs and lows have accumulated in books, studies, and reports. With decades of history at our fingertips, would it not be advantageous to our society to use it as a resource to learn for not only now, but the future? And not only can we reap the benefits from past texts and inventions, but we can also learn from the development of countries around the world. Studying texts, blueprints, books, and even plays from the past and all over the world can only expedite our country's advancement.

Technological advancements throughout the years would have been impossible without previous inventions and developments that have been recorded into blueprints and documents from other societies. Even the simplest concepts would never have been created if it were not for previous ideas that we have researched. Take our modern day alphabet, for instance. Without the Phoenicians laying groundwork for such a system, our 26 letter alphabet wouldn't exist. There's also the development of more complex creations, such as the airplane. Without the original blueprints from Orville and Wilbur Wright, expansion on the original flying machine could have never occurred, and we would not have the massive jet-powered planes we have today. Over time, technologies have been perfected from the use of past experiences and recordings, and in no way is this progression stopping. As long as we use our past, we will continue to become more technologically savvy as time goes on.

There are those who say that because of current technology and world conditions, the past's recordings are irrelevant, especially as they apply to us from other countries. Not only is this untrue considering that there is always room to improve technologically and culturally, but this idea does not apply to philosophy or psychology. By using the lessons that our ancestors from other countries have already created and recorded for the sole purpose to help future generations, philosophies such as Buddhism and Hinduism have been created and spawned into two of the largest religions today. This proves that an even text from other countries past's are beneficial to our people.

With the use of the past's texts, new ideas can be spawned. There might not be a revival of the exact same concept that the Romans used in the architecture thousands of years ago, but with the integration of ideas and techniques from different cultures, something new and even more astonishing will be created. After all, that was how the Renaissance was started. The European's investigation of ancient Greek and Roman texts led to the birth of humanism, historical works of art from Da Vinci and Michelangelo, and groundbreaking books such as The Prince by Machiavelli. With such a great amount of history available today, who is to say another artistic renaissance is not around the corner in the grand scheme of things? Not only can we create an artistically advanced society today, but the discoveries and creations we make will assist future generations to initiate their own renaissance.

Over the years, great works of the past have been reproduced and updated for modern times ad infinitum. One might say that it is unnecessary to seek out the original when a modern adaptation is available and so much easier to comprehend. While this may be true, is it not important to see the original masterpieces in their purest forms? Take for example the recreation of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet into the musical West Side Story. While West Side Story is an excellent film, the real integrity of Romeo and Juliet can not be appreciated by simply watching its remake. The beauty and elegance of Shakespeare's poetry can only be truly appreciated by a select few, but that does not deem this masterpiece irrelevant to our society.

The world has made great progression since the early times of the nomadic hunters and gatherers, and writings from the past and other countries have only helped this progression. With texts from the past, we can "learn from yesterday"; with present writings from other countries we can "live for today"; and when we use all of this to work together to further our development, there always will be "hope for tomorrow."

Saturday, September 19, 2009

25 things

It's one of those "25 things about me" deals that you see going around on facebook notes.
I'm bored, so i figured, "what the hell?"

1) I can not go to sleep without listening to Stairway to Heaven or While My Guitar Gently Weeps. (I didn't list the artists because if you don't know who those songs are by, then get off my blog. Now.)

2) I sleep with my teddy bear on my head.

3) I have really bad stage fright/fear of public speaking.

4) I'm actually very good at softball, I just choose not to play it because I hate physical exertion.

5) I've known how to read music since I was 4.

6) I can't cook or bake to save my life.

7) I'm terrified of the ocean, needles, and birds.

8) I can't swallow pills.

9) I can play any instrument by ear.

10) I would rather stay home and read a book than go out.

11) When I get upset, I write stories about how I wish my life was.

12) I want to stay in high school forever.

13) I'm a vegetarian, but not completely because I like seafood too much.

14) I really hate confrontation and arguments, but I seem to get myself into a lot of them.

15) The reason I try so hard in school is because I hate it when people do better than me in any aspect.

16) I don't think I'm pretty.

17) I would give up everything and anything I own just to meet Paul McCartney and hear him sing Hey Jude.

18) I hate kids.

19) Sometimes I'll tell my friends I'm busy and can't hang out simply because I'm too lazy and would rather lay in bed and watch a movie.

20) I really do love Florida and don't want to leave until I'm married.

21) I absolutely despise guys who are clingy.

22) I'm insecure about my weight but I'm too lazy to work out and do anything about it.

23) I want to work as a Disney Princess in Disneyworld.

24) I miss Kylee Blair and find it hard to get through the school days without her.

25) It took me a really long time to think up 25 interesting and somewhat unique things about myself.

Wednesday, September 16, 2009

Ignorance is your new best friend

Stupid people really annoy me.
I just really needed to say that.

I don't know how teachers deal. I'd probably get fired for insulting them and causing them emotional distress. I just don't understand what's so hard about a little common sense. Is it really that difficult to maintain?

Here's an example of what I'm talking about:
I was in AP Psych the other day and we were taking a vocabulary quiz. In the back of my AP Psych class, there's this whole crew of complete idiots, each one of them dumber than the next! It's quite an accomplishment actually if you think about it.
But anyway, so the head-hancho of the Stupidity Gang back there blurts out "Are any of these terms used more than once??"
My teacher replies maybe.
"But not twice right?" she asks back.

Really?

What, were you expecting to use half a term? Yeah, it's the new thing teachers are trying, they give you half the definition and you write HALF the word! Isn't it great?!

Well I guess I just answered my own question. It seems that a little common sense is too difficult to maintain.

Oh, and this post is dedicated to Bruno, because he stalks me and I know he'll read this at some point and chuckle to himself. ;)
P.S.: STOP QUOTING MY BLOG! :P

Thursday, September 10, 2009

stress

stress is the most annoying thing anyone can ever have the displeasure of experiencing. it's aggravating, it's upsetting, it's irritating, it's....stressful!
my life is always pretty stressful, but sometimes everything just gets over the top.
here's a bit of a list rant to get out everything that is seriously stressing me out:

i'm having serious face skin problems. this itchy rash on my arm is annoying and ugly. my legs look gross. i hate this scarlet letter book. my AP English class/teacher is making me feel like i can't really write anymore. i understand NOTHING in AP US History. my writing sucks as of right now because i have no motivation. i failed my AP US test today without a doubt. my parents are immature and annoying. i feel like i'm not getting any better at driving. i have bruises from holding all my textbooks. i have to go to college soon. what if i don't get IN to college. one of my friends is a total fake bitch. the guy who i used to like hates my guts now. things are going nowhere once again with the guy i always have liked. i'm not the vice president of the chorus even though i deserve to be. i miss my classes from last year. my boyfriend chances are zero. i only attract the guys i DON'T want. i'm constantly sleep-deprived. i don't have my license so i have to rely on my parents which sucks. there are bugs in my house and they keep biting me and i'm really itchy. my grades aren't good enough.

but you know what bugs me most of all? what reeeeally pushes me buttons and just throws me over the edge? when my friends think they're more stressed out than i am. i feel like shaking them by the shoulders and yelling in their face "YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT STRESS IS!" you're stressed out about your science FCAT because it's "too hard"? i have to worry about passing my SAT's. there's too much going on in your little regular credit elective? try having all your electives be AP classes and never having a break. your two simple AP classes giving you trouble? try having 4 of the hardest ones the school has to offer. concerned about passing this grade? i'm concerned about how the hell i'm going to be able to go to college, and whether or not i'll even get accepted.
they complain about being "so overwhelmed" with "too much going on." i love my friends, but when i hear this, it makes me want to smack them in the face with my 60 pounds of textbooks i have to carry. try having parents who talk about how you'll probably fail, yet expect straight A's. try studying as hard as you can for an AP history test, yet completely failing anyway. try fitting in chorus meetings, national honor society, and extra study sessions all into that 30 minute lunch period when you still need 10 minutes left over just so you can review your note cards so you don't fail your AP Psych test. try being reminded EVERY DAY that if you don't get a scholarship or some sort of grant, all your hard work and efforts are going NOWHERE. so please, don't stand at your locker putting away your 3 pound textbook complaining about how overwhelmed you are while i'm right next to you about to burst into tears, struggling to get my 20 pounds each textbooks into my bag and arms for the next load of mentally distressing classes. you don't even know the half of it.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

That's right motherfucker!

Today has been one of the funniest days of my life. I just felt like putting some quotes and pictures up here for documentation, because it's really been fabulous.

A random text out of the blue from Tatiana:
THAT'S RIGHT MOTHERFUCKER! The village idiot is filled with wisdom. Don't worry, there's enough advice for all the little kiddies.

What Tatiana and I do during College Algerbra:
What we all do during 7th hour (we don't have a class) in Mr. Combs's room. That's where it's AT!
^^^ Bruno is now officially "Pop-Tart Faviero"

^^^ Jessica decided to rename everyone: Pop Tart Faviero, Sean Mango, Gabriella Sugar Booger Pusher, and Frankie Fish-popsicle.

Yeah, as you might be able to tell, we're pretty cool people.




Saturday, September 5, 2009

Sweet 16 in Disneyworld :)

16 is a big birthday for everyone. it's the age when you can get your license (which i will have in February by the way), and it's generally the age that everyone idealizes as the age when you're truly mature.
i thought about having the stereotypical narcissistic "sweet 16" where the main idea is to make everyone jealous and focus on me, but overall, it didn't really appeal to me. you know what DOES appeal to me though? DISNEYWORLD!
so my parents, sister, lily, and myself packed up our bags and headed to disneyworld for my birthday. it was soooo much fun. everyone had to wish me happy birthday, i got some stuff for free, lily and i had our own hotel room, and we got to do basically whatever we want.
there are SO many funny stories to this trip, but here's just a few and some pictures to associate with them:okay so this was by far the funniest story (at least in our opinion)
so we had just been on Rockin Rollar Coaster (for the umpteenth time) and we decided that we wanted to buy our picture, so we went up to the counter to get it. we ended up being served by this guy named Michael (who, if by some amazing chance is reading this ever, kudos to you for putting up with us buddy). lily and i decided that we wanted to buy two 5x7 photos and split the cost. so, being a naturally helpful disney cast member, Michael told us it would be $11.69 each.
now, before i continue on, allow me to point out two things:
1) Lily and I can be extremely immature, especially when it comes to anything sexual.
2) Earlier that day, the number 69 was in our Everest picture number code.
anyway, after being told this, lily blurts out "that number just follows us everywhere."
now, no one, no matter how mature, can deny what just happened. yes, we're laughing at the number in a sexual way, we ALL know it.
so Michael starts to chuckle a bit. i quickly explain that we're immature teenagers and i'm sorry we're like this. he understands. then, as lily is getting her change out to pay, she drops a penny. i point this out to her, and then she says "sorry, it's hard to handle."
that's what did it.
slowly but surely, Michael's laughter increases, and so does mine. then it gets to the point where Michael had to turn around and put his head down on the counter he's laughing so hard. You all understand that fake laughter every sales person gives you because they're required to act like they think you're funny? well, this was genuine, LOL, my stomach hurts from laughing so hard laughter. at this point we're all just cracking up hysterically, me mainly at the hilarity of the situation: we're currently sharing an inappropriate sexual-related laugh with a Disney cast member. excuse me, but i think that's pretty damn hilarious.
after we calm down a bit, Michael decides we should write 6 and 9 on our individual photos. i then pick up the pen and write on both mine and lily's. lily asks "what i'm not allowed to use the pen?" "YES YOU CAN'T!" i reply. (i was a bit out of it.) Michael then looks around to check for his manager and then proceeds to say "You aren't allowed to use a pen, they're too hard to handle."
needless to say, best disney moment ever.
-----

you might be wondering: what's so special about that there sign Charlotte?
to tell you the truth, not that much.
but to me and lily it was extremely special.
we were watching this disney special on the tv at the hotel (one of those things that tells you about disney, you know what i mean) and there was a trivia question about where they grow vegetables in disney. the answer was "The Land!" with that exclamation mark. Lily then proceeds to say "The LAAAAAAND!" in a funny voice, which made us both very giggly.
We then deemed it appropriate to take a picture with this sign in a excited and exhilarated fashion.
I still feel it was very necessary, at least in our minds.
----

for the longest time, lily and i have been horrified of Splash Mountain. pretty dumb, perhaps, but nobody asked your opinion did they?
so last time i went, i went on. i realized it was nothing. i told lily this but she still didn't want to go on.
then, we were roaming around Magic Kingdom at about 11:30pm. perhaps it was the late hours, the excitement of being in Disneyworld on my birthday, or the incredible amounts of sugar we'd been consuming. either way, we ended up on there, and lily was none too happy about it.
if you've ever been on Splash Mountain, you know about all the little animals and signs and such. so there's multiple signs saying "To the Laughin' Place" pointing towards where you go DOWN.
Lily then says, in an extremely pissed-off fashion: "Why do I feel like the Laughin' Place isn't going to be very funny?"
As you might of guessed, we both found this extremely amusing, and still do.