Wednesday, July 8, 2009

hp5 rant



so apparently my blog is enjoyed by many...and by many, i mean lily and her multiple identities.


hmmm so what do i want to talk about? oh i know, I want to talk about the 5th harry potter film, because i was watching that last night and i have a few things to say about it.




so after watching it last night, i started to realize, i REALLY don't like that one! and i mean, don't get me wrong, i'm about as big of a harry potter fan as you can get, but i suppose that's why i don't like it very much. i mean first off, there's barely any background music. now, i know that doesn't seem like a very big deal, but when you watch one of the previous movies and then watch the 5th one, you'll realize how much of a difference it makes. it adds all forms of emotion to the movie, which i think is a big part of the reason why the 5th one didn't appeal to me. it just seemed like a lot of sitting around waiting for stuff to happen. even the ending, the epic (or at least it was supposed to be epic) battle between voldy and dumbledore was just unexciting. it was a lot of crashing and woosh noises and fireballs coming out of Ralph Fines mouth. i mean sure, it was cool, but when you compare it to voldy's return in the 4th or the werewolf scene in the 3rd, it really doesn't have you on the edge of your seat now does it?

i think the director is mostly to blame for how this movie turned out. the book itself is over 800 pages long and i've read it at least 6 times. trust me, it's NOT a boring book. but whatever genius they hired to pick out which parts they wanted to do certainly made it seem like a boring book. it was a whole lot of standing around and an overdose of harry's teen angst. i get it, the boy who lived has some emotional scarring here or there, but can't we just through him on a broom and pretend everything's all happy-go-lucky for a couple minutes? that's another thing that was wrong with it, NO QUIDDITCH! i mean how often do you get to watch people flying around on broomsticks chasing after stuff like a quaffle and a golden snitch using imaginary sports equipment? not very often, at least that's how i'd imagine most people would respond to that question. in the 5th book there was a fabulous scene where the weasley twins and harry gang up on malfoy and start beating the living daylights out of him on the quidditch pitch. are you telling me that didn't have any appeal to go in the movie? because it seems pretty appealing to me. then again, maybe i'm just a violent person overly obsessed with watching others suffer. but i'd classify most of america and 95% of the republican government in the exact same way, wouldn't you?
anyhow, here's my final reason as to why the 5th movie wasn't so great, and in my opinion is the biggest one of all. two words: cho. chang. i think any daniel radcliffe crazed girl in the world would agree with me, let alone any human being in the world with a taste for good acting. starting off at the beginning of the movie, i knew i'd hate this girl no matter who she was. why? because she's moving in on my future husband, that's why! but that's not important. first off, she comes out with a scottish accent. maybe it's just my naturally prejudice english nature, but scottish accents annoy me unless they are possessed by oliver wood (as seen above) or desmond from lost. strike one. then, she rejects harry's unbearabley cute invite to the yule ball because she's going with the hufflepuff wonder Cedric Diggory. any girl in her right mind who turns down the chosen one for a hufflepuff...well, obviously isn't in her right mind. strike two. and then, the icing on the cake, her boyfriend goes and gets murdered, so now she decides it's a good time to go for harry. not because she decided that she likes him more than Cedric, but because Cedric is DEAD, so she's got no other alternative. strike three, and your out "ho" chang.

but really, even with it's little flaws here and there, the 5th movie is still brilliant if you think about it. the special effects are fabulous, all the actors are great, and they cast probably the only guy in the world who can wear those round geeky glasses and still look do-able. so really the moral of this story is "no matter what goes wrong in a harry potter movie, it still kicks twilight's ass any day of the week." am i right?

1 comment:

  1. hahah 'ho' chang.
    desmond = <3 obvs
    &, less teen angst, ftw! 'you'd think that being friends with the boy who lived-- no no, scratch that, BEING the boy who lived, you'd score some serious chicks'

    ReplyDelete