there's not a day that goes by that i do not secretly question myself if my parents are bipolar. well, actually just my mother, i think my father has either split personalities, anger managment problems, or a combination of the two. it just puzzles me how two human beings can be so...well, for lack of a better term, obnoxious.
if you've kept up-to-date on my blog until now, you'll know that my parents and i have nothing near a pleasent relationship. but don't think they're bad parents, because they are absolutely loving, caring, and understanding...to my sister. oh yes, in the twisted reality that is my parents mindset, darling chelsea can do no wrong, and even when she doesn, it's never her fault, but mine. if you are an older sibling reading this you will know EXACTLY where i am coming from, especially when the sibling is in the toddler/small child stage. come on, we all know that infinite saying which older brothers and sisters all across the globe grind their teeth to hearing: "but he/she doesn't know any better." i think we can all agree that these children do indeed know better, perhaps even better than our parents, because not only can they pull of this young and innocent demeanor, but they use it to their advantage and to the demise of the older sibling. my sister in fact has gotten so good at it, she doesn't even have to do anything anymore. she's won the automatic favoritism, a favoritism which i believe is rightfully mine.
i'll never forget what one of my classmates in my AICE Marine Science class said one day in a classroom discussion: "Any older child who is successful academically without having to be pushed it automatically favorited." to my surprise, everyone else agreed. this got me to thinking, "hey, she's right. i'm successful academically, where the hell is my praise?"
i've gotten close to straight A's all through middle and high school. i'm very near to becoming in the top 5 percentile of my soon-to-be junior class. i take all AP classes wherever and whenever possible. i'm in my school's national honor society. i passed on of the most difficult AP classes in high school with the highest grade you can achieve. i know this sounds like a lot of bragging, but i'm just trying to make my point. not once have i been pushed by my parents to study or do my homework or anything of that sort. i deprive myself of sleep and social time because i strive for academic acheivement. i'm obsessed with it. i NEED those grades. i feel stupid and useless if i don't. so why is it that my 8 year old sister who hates to read, needs to be forced to do her homework, and brings home low marks comes out on top next to her constantly reading for fun, homework perfecting, grade A sister? well, your guess is as good as mine ladies and gentlemen, because i for one have not the slightest inkling.
but let's get back to what this is about: my parents and their atrocious personalities. what irks me is not that they are constantly discouraging me or yelling at me or ignoring me because i've "done something wrong" (which in my parents mind is shutting the door to a room where there isn't a lot of air circulation), but the way they switch from these angered, spiteful personalities, to these "oh we're all friends again" personalities. honestly, with my parents it's like being in high school filled with a room of a bunch of bitchy girls who all have a problem with you. as soon as you leave the room, they discuss just what it is is wrong with you and how annoying it is. normally i wouldn't care, but they say it just loud enough so i can hear every word with ringing clarity. i'm sure you could imagine that if every time you walked into your room, you could heard two people in another room discussing your laziness, selfishness, and appalling attitude, you'd get kinda tired of it, am i right?
but here's where i draw the line; after hearing all of these lovely synonyms of selfish and lazy used to describe myself, i walk back through the living room to get to the kitchen, and i hear my mother say "hey char! wanna go to the library with me?" wait wait wait, time out on the field-- what happened to selfish, lazy, disrespectful, and stupid? for a while i used to think "maybe they don't know i can hear them", but even they aren't that thick. it's as if they think "well now we got all those incredibley hurtful insults out of the way, let's pretend like we actually like her!" "brilliant idea honey! now she DEFINENTLEY can't call the social worker and report verbal abuse! ah ha ha!" this is what makes me lose my mind. either be nice to me like you're supposed to, or talk amongst yourselves and leave me alone. one thing i can't stand is fake people, and my dear mum and dad are about as plastic as they come.
but what compelled me to write this you may ask? well, after bitching me out at the dining room table while my demonic sister just sat and smirked, my mother worked up the nerve to kindly ask me to pick up all the dishes for her. i then decided to quickly let out all my anger here before i was compelled to tell her exactly where she could stick those dishes.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment