Tuesday, August 18, 2009

first day of school analysis

Tuesday, August 18th, 2009
8:30am

Today was my first day of Junior Year.

I'm not gonna lie, I hate change. I despise my routine being altered or messed up, especially when I had such fun and amazing classes with all my friends like AICE General Paper or AP World History, but also I hate changing the fabulous teachers I had, like Mrs. Esposito, Mr. Williams, and Mr. "P Diddy" Combs (the last two being awesome just because of their personalities, not so much their teaching abilities. Mrs. Esposito on the other hand has definite BAMF status when it comes to being an English teacher.)
But I have to admit, it went over a LOT better than I expected. Let's do a play-by-play, shall we?

Period 1- French 2 with Madame Etienne.
This class probably felt the weirdest. I didn't know many people in there, and the room just had a strange vibe. But what makes it all worth while is I have that class with my best friend Lily :) I'm also extremely greatful that Mrs. Mazous is leaving on won't be our teacher, because I heard she is a complete bitch, and after witnessing her assisting the new teacher, I can definentley verify that she is.

Period 2- Vocal Ensamble with Ms. Passarello.
I love to sing, and this is the sole reason I stayed in this class. That, and I don't want to ditch Tatiana. I despise this teacher with every fiber of my being, but I can deal with her for two more years. As long as I get to sing. Also, it's really easy to talk in there, and somehow, Tatiana and I are going to end up Prez and Vice Prez if this senior chick doesn't show up, so i guess that's cool.

Period 3- Chemistry 1 Honors with Ms. Ahmed.
This class seems relatively easy because it's an honors class, and not to be conceited, but I can stick an honors class in my ear compared to the all the AP stuff I've done. Especially a class mainly about math, my easiest subject (besides writing, but I actually enjoy writing so that doesn't count.) The teacher is a young lady who I'd guess is about 23-24? She seems relatively sweet, I don't think she'll be a problem.

Period 4- AP English Composition with Mrs. Garafolo.
I've heard a LOT about this teacher, and she lived up to my expectations. She's about as close to having Mrs. Esposito again as I'm probably ever going to get. She has a unique sense of humor, which I find funny, she's very intelligent, and she's told us that the class is all about writing! Let me lean back in my chair and put up my feet, because this is going to be a breeze. The class also has a really good feel to it. There aren't too many people, I know the majority of them, and everyone was pretty talkative, but not in the annoying "regular class" kind of way, just in a general discussion with the teacher sort of way. It just feels right, which I'm happy about, because I was so worried I was going to hate my English class because of my amazing experiance last year.

Period 5- AP Psychology with Mr. Joynt.
Yep, that's right, his name is Mr. Joynt. And let me tell you something. He is the coolest teacher EVER. He's so funny, but also very smart. He recognizes we need to work, but is also extremely laid back. The class itself seems really cool, but it gives of the air of a regular class, not an AP class, and this kinda bothers me. I'm sure it'll die down soon though once some people switch out because they're too lazy to work.

Period 6- AP US History with Mr. Joynt (again).
I just know it, this is going to be my favorite class. I know pretty much everyone in it, I have so many good friends in there, and of course, Mr. Joynt teaches it. This class is going to be amazing, I can feel it.

So there's my analysis for the day. Not having a 7th hour is AMAZING! I can go visit Combs and Williams as I please, and then Liz and I can get outta there whenever we want. It feels so free. I know my classes last year were amazing, but I don't know what it is about this year, but I just feel it's going to be a really really good one :)

No comments:

Post a Comment